You are using version 8 or less of Internet Explorer. Please upgrade your browser to version 9 or higher or use another browser
Chairman Message

The agricultural sector has long been an important part of the lives of the people living in this region. Agriculture and date palm have provided sustenance, building materials, shade and a source of income for people whose lives depend on it.

The drought the world is witnessing and other challenges leading to a decline of agriculture necessitate a need for creating new mechanisms and innovations to ensure constructive development of agriculture as well as to motivate experts, researchers and farmers to contribute their efforts to this area.

Khalifa International Award for Date Palm and Agricultural Innovation has been established by H.H. Sheikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, President of United Arab Emirates (God protects Him), in recognition of the outstanding efforts and contributions made by both individuals and institutions in the field of agricultural innovation and date palm and to encourage and motivate them to exert further efforts towards upgrading the agricultural sector and date palm tree.

The UAE has been at the forefront of those countries that granted special attention to the agricultural sector and date palm. It has constructively contributed to upgrading this sector through the preservation and development of resources in support of world food security through a variety of purposeful initiatives and successful events, which achieved a great success for the Arab and international community.

Today, Khalifa International Award for Date Palm and Agricultural Innovation has been established as a platform to recognize and reward those individuals and institutions around the world that have contributed so significantly to this area and as an annual forum for exchange of experience and knowledge as well as a bridge for communication among all peoples. Thus the UAE will remain a country of love, peace and harmony, and be at the forefront of the world in all areas as intended by the wise leadership of H.H. Sheikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, President of the UAE (God protects Him).

H.H.Sheikh Nahayan Mabarak Al Nahayan

Minister of Tolerance
President of the Award’s Board of Trustees

كلمة رئيس مجلس الأمناء

لطالما كان القطاع الزراعي ونخيل التمر جزءاً مهماً من حياة سكان هذه المنطقة، فقد كانت الزراعة ونخيل التمر مصدراً رئيسياً للطعام ومورداً للدخل لأناس اعتمدت حياتهم عليه.

وإن ما يشهده العالم من موجات الجفاف والأسباب التي تؤدي إلى تراجع الزراعة، يستدعي العمل على خلق آليات جديدة والعمل على إعداد دراسات بناءة وابتكارات رائدة لضمان تطور هذا القطاع والوصول به إلى مستويات أفضل، وذلك من خلال تحفيز الخبراء والباحثين والمزارعين على المساهمة بأفكارهم ومشاريعهم الرائدة لضمان تحقيق هذا الهدف.

لقد أسس صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان رئيس دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة (حفظه الله) جائزة خليفة الدولية لنخيل التمر والابتكار الزراعي، بمكرمة من سموه تقديراً للجهود والإسهامات البارزة التي يقوم بها الأفراد والمؤسسات على السواء في مجال الابتكار الزراعي ونخيل التمر، لتشجيعهم وتحفيزهم على بذل المزيد من الجهود بغية الوصول بالقطاع الزراعي وشجرة نخيل التمر إلى أفضل المستويات.

وقد كانت الإمارات العربية المتحدة وما زالت في مقدمة الدول التي منحت القطاع الزراعي وشجرة نخيل التمر اهتماماً خاصاً وتبوأت في هذا المجال مكانة عالمية مرموقة وساهمت مساهمة بناءة في الارتقاء بهذا القطاع والمحافظة على الموارد وتنميتها ودعم الأمن الغذائي العالمي من خلال العديد من المبادرات الهادفة والفعاليات الناجحة التي حققت نجاحاً كبيراً على المستويين العربي والعالمي.

واليوم تم تأسيس جائزة خليفة الدولية لنخيل التمر والابتكار الزراعي، لتكون منصة لتقدير وتكريم الأفراد والمؤسسات من شتى أنحاء العالم الذين قدموا إسهامات جليلة في هذا المجال، وملتقى سنوياً لتبادل الخبرات والمعرفة وجسراً للتواصل بين كافة الشعوب لتبقى دولة الإمارات بلد المحبة والسلام والوئام والإخاء وفي صدارة دول العالم في شتى المجالات كما أرادت لها القيادة الحكيمة في ظل صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان رئيس الدولة حفظه الله.

معالي الشيخ نهيان بن مبارك آل نهيان

وزير التسامح
رئيس مجلس أمناء الجائزة